College gives faculty and staff teaching and service awards

Several awards have recently been given to recognize faculty and staff members.

Dr. Andrea Eslick, psychology professor is this year’s recipient of the John O. Chellevold Student Award for Excellence in Teaching and Professional Service.

“I am so honored to be the recipient of the Chellevold award this year. Receiving this award made me reflect on my own educational experience,” Eslick said.

“My most influential teachers were the teachers who held me accountable for my own learning and who challenged my thinking,” she said.

“Dr. Eslick challenges students every day in class to think critically about psychology.

“She teaches them real things that we all need to know to succeed in life,” one student nominator wrote.

Dr. Bret Billet, professor of political science, received the Advisor of the Year award.

Rev. Dr. Ramona Bouzard received the Outstanding Faculty Award and Bernard Holland received the Outstanding Staff Award.

The award is a Student Senate tradition and is based on nominations from the student body who believe these individuals have had an impact on their life at Wartburg.

“Wartburg has been fortunate to attract faculty who are committed to teaching and who thrive because of their commitment to both teach and mentor students,” Bouzard said.

“My favorite aspect of this job is talking to all my friends, that happen to be students, about their journey and mine,” Holland said.

Bouzard said she finds joy in teaching alongside her colleagues, as well as discussing students’ stories, hopes and dreams.

“I love accompanying and mentoring students while they grow into a new ownership of life and discover the ways they can use their learning and gifts to serve others,” she said.

“Choosing the recipients of this award is always a difficult process, as every single person nominated is fit to receive it,” Benjamin Pollack, Wartburg’s academic ombudsperson said.

This award comes with the honor of the winners’ names being etched into a plaque in the hallway just outside the Hub in the Saemann Student Center.

Holland and Bouzard said they will continue to inspire students because they understand the value of having good mentors, whether they are past or current colleagues, students or alumni.

“Humor, hope, honesty, respect, and joy are essential.

“I try to invite students into these practices as they grow into themselves as adults which, of course, takes a lifetime,” Bouzard said.

The two recipients would like to thank the students for allowing them to be themselves.

In order to vote for next year’s recipients, students can find the link posted on the information center, or in an email from student senators.

Leave a Reply