Golf, Sports

Golfers win sixth straight IIAC title

The 2012 Iowa Conference Women's Golf Champions (from left): head coach Monica Severson, Taylor Roberts, Morgan McMillan, Kelsi Sawatzky, Samantha Heinen, Molly McDonough, assistant coach Paige Klostermann

Forty-six strokes separated Wartburg and Luther at the Iowa Conference Championships, giving the Knights their sixth straight championship.

The fourth round concluded Saturday at Bos Landen Golf Club in Pella and Wartburg finished with a total team score of 1,330 while second-place Luther scored 1,376.

“Anytime you can win a conference championship it’s a great accomplishment for your team,” head coach Monica Severson said.

“Obviously winning six in a row is a neat thing but every year is a different team so we’re just enjoying what we did this year.”

Simpson’s Jennifer Gaffney was the individual medalist with a 324 while Kelsi Sawatzky was the top Knight finisher with a score of 330, good for fourth place.

Samantha Heinen (331), Taylor Roberts (334) and Molly McDonough (341) also earned all-conference honors with their fifth, eighth and tenth place finishes, respectively.

Morgan McMillan finished just outside all-conference honors, which go to the top ten finishers, with her 11th place finish and a score of 342.

“The key to winning probably all six of the championships is that we’ve had good team depth,” Severson said.

“I think anybody on my team would tell you that they want the team championship. The medalist is something that if it happens, is a neat thing, but it’s not what our goal is,” Severson said.

Severson was named Iowa Conference Women’s Golf Coach of the Year for the fourth time in her career.

The championship gives the Knights a spot in the 2013 NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Championships, which will take place May 14-17 at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort in Destin, Fla.

Wartburg’s appearance at will be their tenth consecutive.

[pb_vidembed title=”Oct. 9 SportsKnight: Wartburg Women’s Golf” caption=”” url=”” type=”yt” w=”480″ h=”385″]


1. Wartburg (1,330)

2. Luther (1,376)

3. Simpson (1,407)

4. Loras (1,414)

5. Central (1,433)

6. Dubuque (1,514)

7. Coe (1,526)

8. Buena Vista (1,604)


1. Jennifer Gaffney, Simpson (324)

2. Abby Potts, Loras (326)

3. Ashley Smith, Central (330)

4. Kelsi Sawatzky, Wartburg (330)

5. Samantha Heinen, Wartburg (331)

6. Laura Davis, Luther (332)

7. Katie Gaudian, Luther (332)

8. Taylor Roberts, Wartburg (334)

9. Kelsey Van Tasell, Central (335)

10. Molly McDonough, Wartburg (341)

Leave a Reply