Sports, Tennis

Wiegmann wins Flight C at IIAC Championships

The Wartburg men’s tennis team competed at the Iowa Conference Individual Championships this weekend at Luther College.

Yusuf Chowdry lost the opening round of Flight A singles to Zach Decker of Coe, 9-8. Also in Flight A, Blayne Willadsen had a walkover in his opening round but then lost to Riley Galbraith of Coe, 8-2

Brian Rasmussen lost to Ramesh Karkin of Luther, 8-1. Eric Hilpert lost in the opening round to Quinn Foley of Luther, 8-5.

In flight B singles, Koo Miyaki lost his first round match to Central’s Tim Kahl, 8-5. Dayton Stevens won his first round match against Mitch Schumacher of Coe, 9-8, but lost his second round match to Luther’s Sam Cychosz, 8-2.

DJ Grant lost 8-5 to Mark Kroll of Coe. Josh Trueblood beat Shawn Iben of Dubuque, 8-3, and then lost to Matt Knutson of Luther, 8-1, in the next round.

In Flight C singles, PJ Wessels won his opening round match over Ken Tucker of Loras, 8-3. He lost in the next round to Kyle Weeden of Buena Vista, 9-8.

Coy Wiegmann was the champion of Flight C singles, defeating Drake Bouska of Buena Vista in the final round, 8-6.

Wiegmann won three 8-2 matches over two Simpson players and teammate Nate Smith.

In Flight A doubles, the teams of Hilpert/Willadsen and Stevens/Trueblood both won their opening round matches, but fell in the second round.

The Knights will compete at ITA Regionals this weekend with play beginning Saturday.

Leave a Reply